Three former ministers contesting in the 15th State Legislative Assembly Elections in six states on 12th Aug. 2023 – EC  

sss state elections

PUTRAJAYA: 573 candidates from various parties including independents today have been nominated to fill 245 state legislative assembly (DUN) seats and one parliament seat.

The chairman of the Election Commission (SPR), Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Salleh stated that the candidates will run for the elections in six states including Kedah, Terengganu, Kelantan, Penang, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan and the Terengganu by- election (PRK).  

“After the nomination period ended at 10 am today, a total of 573 nomination papers had been submitted by various parties and individuals who will be contesting in the 15th State Legislative Assembly Elections and the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election, PO36,” he said at a press conference held here today..

Meanwhile, he said, one nomination from an independent candidate for DUN N09 Kota Lama, Kelantan was rejected.

Meanwhile for the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election, Returning Officer Datuk Anuar Awang announced this morning that Azan Ismail (PKR) will be contesting against Datuk Ahmad Amzad Hashim (Pas).

The by-election is being held following the Terengganu Election Court’s June 27 annulment of former Deputy Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation Ahmad Amzad’s victory in the 15th General Election (GE15) after elements of corruption during the campaign period were found.

On January 3, Terengganu Umno filed a petition at the High Court to annul the result of the seat under the Election Offences Act 1954.

As reported by Bernama, the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat covers the state constituencies of Wakaf Mempelam, Bandar, Ladang and Batu Buruk with 123,575 registered voters and 44 polling stations with 222 streams.       

In another development, for Penang DUN, the former Minister of Finance and DAP National Chairman, Lim Guan Eng will be facing a three corner fight in Air Putih (N23) with Kong Cheng Ann (PN) and Teh Yee Cheu (PRM) contesting against him.  

The former Minister of Housing and Local Government, Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican (BN) contesting for the Bertam (N02) seat will be facing  Khaliq Mehtab Ishaq (PN).

In Kedah, the caretaker Menteri Besar of Kedah, Datuk Seri Sanusi Nor (PN) who will be defending the Jeneri (N24) seat will be facing Khizri Abu Kassim (BN). However, the Lunas (N34) seat will witness a four-corner fight involving Anuar Ramli (PN), Shamsul Anuar Abdullah (PH), N.Rajendaran (Independent) and S.Pannir Selvam (Independent).

In Selangor, the former Menteri Besar of Selangor Amirudin Shari (PH) who will be contesting in Sungai Tua (N16) will be facing two other contestants namely Hanif Jamaluddin (PN) and G. Suman (Independent).

The former Minister of Women, Family and Community Development, Datuk Seri Rina Harun (PN) contesting for Batu Tiga (N41) seat will be facing two other contestants namely Danial Al-Rashid (PH) and Saiyidah Izzati Nur Razak Maideen (Muda).

However former Senior Minister of Economic Cluster and Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali from PN contesting for Hulu Kelang (N18) seat will be facing Juwairiya Zulkifli (PH).

For Rantau (N27) seat in Negeri Sembilan, The Minister of Defence, Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan (BN) will be contesting against Rozmal Malakan (PN) while the Minister of Transport, Loke Siew Fook (PH) standing for Chennah (N01) seat will be contesting against Rosmadi Ariff (PN).

In Terengganu, for Kijal (N30) seat, former Menteri Besar, Datuk Seri Ahmad Said will be contesting against Datuk Razali Idris (PN-BERSATU).

In the nomination session today, the Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (MUDA) candidate Melanie Ting Yi-Hlin, 23, emerged as the youngest to contest in the state election that is scheduled on 12th August 2023. She will be contesting for Bukit Antarabangsa (N19) seat in Selangor against Mohd. Kamri Kamaruddin (PH) and Shasha Lyna Abdul Latif (PN).

Meanwhile in Penang, for Pantai Jerejak seat, former teacher Ravinder Singh (PRM) aged 80, is the oldest candidate in the state election and he will be facing three other contenders; Fahmi Zainol (PH-PKR), Oh Tong Keong (PN-Gerakan) and Loh Xiang Pin (Muda). – Malaysia World News     


more recommended stories