Syed Saddiq the youngest cabinet minister in Malaysia’s political history

Syed Saddiq Abdul Rahman created a new history in the Malaysian politics when he was appointed as the Youth and Sports Minister at the age of 25

KUALA LUMPUR: Muar Member of Parliament (MP), Syed Saddiq Abdul Rahman (pic, first right) created a new history in the Malaysian politics when he was appointed as the Youth and Sports Minister at the age of 25.

Syed Saddiq was sworn in as a cabinet minister in the Pakatan Harapan (PH) government along with 12 other ministers and 23 deputy ministers before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at the Istana Negara today (Monday).  

A law graduate from the International Islamic University (UIA), Syed Saddiq became the Muar MP after he won over the Barisan Nasional (BN) incumbent candidate Datuk Seri Razali Ibrahim who was the former deputy youth and sports minister from 2009-2013. 

Syed Saddiq made his way into the political arena after he was awarded as the Asia’s Best Speaker at the Asian British Parliamentary (ABP) Debating Championship for three times.

The former Minister of Youth and Sports, Khairy Jamaluddin congratulated Syed Saddiq’s appointment in the social media.

“I pray that you will bring more success to the ministry and the country,” Khairy tweeted.

Meanwhile MP Selangau, Sarawak, Baru Bian expressed his happiness for being appointed as Works Minister and thanked the Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad for his confidence in him.

“Although I’m aware that the responsibility in this portfolio is heavy, I will do my best to ensure efficiency, transparency and accountability in all dealings,” he said in a statement.

The Sarawak PKR chairman and Ba’Kelalan state assemblyman said he was ready to take up the job, which was previously held by Petra Jaya MP Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof.

Meanwhile, Sarawak Pakatan Harapan and DAP Chairman Chong Chieng Jen was sworn-in as Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs.

The 13 MPs sworn in as ministers today are:

Khalid Abdul Samad (Federal Territories); Syed Saddiq Abdul Rahman (Youth and Sports); Datuk Mohamad Din Ketapi (Tourism, Arts and Culture); Yeo Bee Yin (Energy, Technology, Science, Climate Change and Environment);  Darell Leiking (International Trade and Industry); Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs); Mohd. Redzuan Yusof (Entrepreneur Development); Teresa Kok (Primary Industries); Baru Bian (Works); Dr. A Xavier Jayakumar  (Water, Land and Natural Resources); Datuk Dr. Mujahid Yusof (Prime Minister’s Department-Religion); Liew Vui Keong (Prime Minister’s Department – Law); Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah (Foreign Affairs).

In another development, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said, he will appoint three more ministers shortly to complete the 29 cabinet ministers’ list.

He said that after witnessing the sworn-in by 13 new cabinet ministers and 23 deputy ministers before the King at Istana Negara today. – Malaysia World News  

more recommended stories