Sultan of Pahang sworn in as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong

Sultan Abdullah Riayatuddin Al Mustafa Billah sworn in as the 16th Yang di Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara today Jan.31.
Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah sworn in as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara today (Jan.31).

KUALA LUMPUR 31 JAN: The Sultan of Pahang, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, took the oath as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong today to reign for a five year term.

The swearing-in and signing of the instrument of the oath of office as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was held at the 252nd Special Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at the Balairung Seri (Throne Room) of Istana Negara.

The meeting convened at the throne room at 10.55am was chaired by Selangor ruler Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and attended by all Malay rulers while Sultan Muhamad V was represented by the Tengku Mahkota of Kelantan, Tengku Dr. Muhammad Faiz Petra. 

The other rulers were Johor’s Sultan Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar, Kedah ruler Sultan Sallehuddin Sultan Badlishah, Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Sarajuddin Putra Jamalullail, Terengganu’s  Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir and Pahang Regent Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim Alam Shah Al-Sultan Abdullah.

Also present were Governor of Melaka Mohd.Khalil Yaakob, Penang Governor Abdul Rahman Abbas, Sarawak Governor Taib Mahmud and Sabah Governor Juhar Mahiruddin.

The meeting also witnessed the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah took the oath as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong  who will also reign for five years.

However Sultan Abdullah also took the instrument of the declaration of holding of office and the contents were read out by Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

Sultan Abdullah and his consort, Tengku Ampuan Pahang Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah Almarhum Sultan Iskandar left the RMAF air base in Kuantan in a special aircraft at 8.34am.

Sultan Abdullah succeeds Sultan Muhammad V, the Sultan of Kelantan who stepped down on Jan.6 as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong after he reigned about two years from Dec.13, 2016. –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories