Sultan Ibrahim is the new King of Malaysia

FB IMG 1706696733752


KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim, 65, is now the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong following the declaration session held in a traditional ceremony at Istana Negara today.

With the completion of the pronunciation ceremony and signing the oath of office as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Balairung Seri today, the five year reign of Sultan Ibrahim as the pillar of sovereignty and national unity as stipulated in the Federal Constitution has started.

The ceremony today has also witnessed Sultan Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah,67, taking oath and signing the oath of office as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong that completes the constitutional monarchy system that has been practised in the country.

Sultan Ibrahim and Sultan Nazrin Shah have been selected by the Malay Rulers at the 263 (Special) Conference of Malay Rulers’ Meeting at Istana Negara on 27th Oct.2023 following Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah reign term ended as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong yesterday.

Up to date Malaysia have had 17 Yang di-Pertuan Agong elected in a rotational basis once in every five years amongst the nine Malay Rulers.-Malaysia World News

more recommended stories