PN retains Sungai Bakap state seat with Abidin Ismail garnering a majority of 4,267

1720280075429 scaled

NIBONG TEBAL: Perikatan Nasional (PN) managed to retain the Sungai Bakap state seat in the by-election today following Abidin Ismail garnering 14,489 votes defeating Pakatan Harapan’s Dr. Joohari Ariffn who captured 10,222 votes.

Abidin leads with a majority of 4,267 which is a higher majority compared with the state elections held last August.

The official result for the Sungai Bakap state seat in Penang was announced by returning officer Khairulnizam Hashim at 9.30pm at Dewan Serbaguna Jawi, here.

Meanwhile, the turnout of the by-election had recorded 63.45 per cent of voters while 208 votes had been rejected.

The by-election was held following the death of Pas’ Nor Zamri Latiff on May 24, 2024.
Nor Zamri had defeated PKR’s Nurhidayah Che Rose with a majority of 1,563 votes in the state elections last August.

Earlier the Sungai Bakap state seat had been the Barisan Nasional (BN) stronghold since 1974 Penang state elections.

However Pakatan Harapan (PH) had won the state seat in 2008 general elections until the state elections in 2023.

more recommended stories