Philippines bans travellers from Malaysia

President Rodrigo Duterte
President Rodrigo Duterte

Philippines has banned travellers from Malaysia from entering the country to prevent the spread of the Delta Covid-19 variant.

Official said Philippines government has extended the ban for travellers from 10 countries, including Malaysia until August 15.

Reports in Manila Times said the other banned countries are India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia and Thailand.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque Jr said,  President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the recommendations from the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to extend the travel restrictions currently imposed on 10 countries starting August 1 until August 15, 2021.



Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories