Perak UMNO supports Zahid to retain his President post in UMNO

FB IMG 1692229060605

KUALA LUMPUR: The Perak UMNO has on consensus supports Datuk Seri Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi to retain his president post even though many individuals have pressured him to resign following the bad performance of UMNO in the six state elections on Aug.12, 2023.

As quoted by “Sinar Harian”, the Perak UMNO chairman, Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad said, the fact that UMNO had done badly in the state elections recently was not a strong reason for Ahmad Zahid to resign from his post.

He said, having lost badly in the elections was not only faced by UMNO but had happened to other parties before this.

“In the State UMNO Relation Meeting held on Tuesday, it was agreed on consensus that Ahmad Zahid should retain his post as the President of UMNO.

“For umpteen years DAP did not win in the elections but Tan Sri Lim Kit Siang was not pressured to resign. The same with PAS where it lost many times in the elections but there was nobody pressuring Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang to resign,” Saarani said to the reporters.

He added in Johor state elections, Barisan Nasional (BN) won. At that time no parties had pressured Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin to resign. In the recent state elections, 18 Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate had lost their deposits but none of the UMNO candidates had lost theirs.

He said that after the “Program Mesra Hari Bertemu Pelanggan Negeri Perak 17th Series held at Stadium Indera Mulia, Ipoh, Wednesday.

Saarani claims that the pressure came from former UMNO leaders and some of them have joined the opposition.

“The people who pressured Ahmad Zahid to resign includes Tan Sri Annuar Musa and Khairy Jamaluddin who are not members of UMNO.

 “The irony is that the people who are already out of the party likes to comment on UMNO. They are just like “hating but missing UMNO,” he said.

In the state elections recently, UMNO won only 19 out of 108 State Legislative Assembly (DUN) seats.

Negeri Sembilan did the best by winning 14 out of 17 DUN seats contested.

Meanwhile, BN won two seats each in Penang and Selangor while in Kelantan lost six previous seats but garnered only one seat in Galas and no seat won in Kedah and Terengganu. -Malaysia World News


more recommended stories