“Op Patuh” will not compromise on business premises repeating same mistakes–DPM Ismail

FB IMG 1623807418608

PUTRAJAYA JULY 17: Selangor and Kuala Lumpur remain in Phase One of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) as announced by the government yesterday even though the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) has not been extended.

Deputy Prime Minister (DPM)/Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, the threshold indicators should be fulfilled by the two states beforeshifting to Phase Two.

He said, the indicator for 10 per cent of the adult population vaccinated was fulfilled but the COVID-19 cases are still high and the utilisation of beds in the Intensive Care Units is critical.

“EMCO will be imposed on the localities recording an upward trend and a surgein COVID-19 cases,” Ismail said in a statement here today.

The DPM added, the implementation of the Compliance Operation (Op Patuh) by the Ministry of Home Affairs will be mobilised to ensure a high level of compliances are adhered to at the business premises and the factories.

“The government will not compromise with any parties that repeat the same mistakes and will not hesitate to instruct the premises or factories to stop operations immediately.

“Subsequently, “Op Patuh” is implemented to increase the awareness of the employers in ensuring the safety and the welfare of workers are taken care of if they are given the permission to operate by the government.

“Workers are also requested to report to the authorities if the employers operate without permission or providing a work place that does not comply with the standard operating procedure (SOP) set by the government,” Ismail said.

On another development Ismail highlighted on the EMCO imposed on 12 localities involving several states effective 19th July until 1st August 2021.

The localities include Apartment Seri Maju, Kota Kinabalu, Kmpung Tinusa 2, Sandakan, two localities in Tawau namely, QL Farm Breeder, Jalan Stesen TV,Onika Quary Quarters, four localities in Rembau District Negeri Sembilan namely Taman Chembong Utama, Taman Chembong Jaya and Taman Setia Raja, sub-district Chembong and Taman KSNS, sub-district Pedas, two localities in Pahang including Pos Iskandar, Bera and Kuala Medang, Lipis andtwo localities in Sarawak namely Kampung Garung, Kuching and Kampung Pasir Hilir, Lundu District, Kuching Division.According to Ismail, the SOP in all the localities under EMCO is the same as announced before and for further details refer to MKN website www.mkn.gov.my.

The Deputy Prime Minister said, the Task Force Compliance Team yesterday had checked on 2,239 factories, 14,551 business premises, 793 construction sites and 293 workers’ hostels.

“From the checking, 64 premises including the factories, business premises and construction sites are instructed to close down for failing to comply with the SOP set by the government.

“In the Task Force Compliance Operation, 433 individuals had been detained yesterday for not adhering to the SOP. From that 408 had been issued with compounds and 25 were remanded,” Ismail said.- Malaysia World News

more recommended stories