Melaka State Election: BN won 21 from 28 seats


KUALA LUMPUR NOV.20: The Barisan Nasional (BN) has succeeded to form the government after winning 21 out of 28 seats that is two third majority while Perikatan Nasional (PN) 2 and Pakatan Harapan garnered 5 seats in the Melaka State Election held today.

The result was announced by the Chairman of the Election Commission of Malaysia, Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh at the media conference held at Ayer Keroh, Melaka this evening.

He said, out of 476,037 eligible voters, about 65.85 per cent had casted their votes at 217 district centres and this include the early voters including the police and military personal.

With BN forming the government it is confirmed that the candidate for Melaka Chief Minister Datuk Seri Sulaiman Md. Ali will be heading the state government.

Sulaiman from BN has garnered 4,486 votes for the Lendu seat against Abdullah Mahadi (PN) and Mohd. Asri Ibrahim (PH).

It is also interesting to note that the former Chief Minister of Melaka, Idris Harun who stood under PH banner lost to Fairil Nizam Roslan of BN in Asahan.

Meanwhile an artiste and celebrity Khaidhirah Abu Zahar won the Rim seat with 4,037 votes under BN ticket against Azalina Abdul Rahman (PN) and Prasanth Kumar (PH).

In another development, according to a political analyst Melaka will have its state election within five years time that is in 2026 depending on the Chief Minister to determine when the next election is. –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories