MCO extended in Kelantan, 5 states remain under CMCO, RMCO in 9 states effective until 17th May 2021

Nine states remain under Recovery MCO, said Sabri. Photo: Malaysia World News

KUALA LUMPUR APR.27: The Movement Control Order (MCO) imposed on Kelantan along with 10 districts in the state will be extended for another two weeks while five other states namely Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Johor, Pulau Pinang and Sarawak remain under the Conditional MCO effective 29th April until 17th May 2021 due to R-naught increase that has passed 1.0 since 20 days ago.

Senior and Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, Sabah’s status has changed from Recovery MCO to Conditional (CMCO) since the green zones have been lesser while red zones have increased besides 33 localities are still under Enhanced MCO (EMCO).

Ismail said, nine states remain under Recovery MCO (RMCO), including Perlis, Kedah except Kuala Muda under CMCO (as it is still in the red zone) with Perak, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Terengganu, Putrajaya and Labuan.

“The enforcement of the MCO, CMCO and RMCO on the states involved will be effective 29th April until 17th May 2021 except Sarawak that has started from 27th April until 17th May 2021,” Ismail said at the press conference held here today.

 Ismail added, four localities in Sabah and one locality in Sarawak have been imposed with EMCO while one locality in Sabah with extended EMCO alongside with EMCO ended in two localities in Sabah.

The localities imposed with EMCO in Sabah include, PPR Batu 2, Lorong Habib Abdul Rahman, Tawau , PPR. Batu 8, Jalan Apas, Tawau, Kompleks Abedon (Bumiwealth, Kolopis and Tanaki, Kinabatangan and FELDA,Umas, Kalabakan, Sabah while in Sarawak involving the National Secondary School Ulu Balingian, Sarawak.

However Ismail said, EMCO has been extended on Kampung Baru Pasir Putih, Mukim Sri Tanjung, Tawau Sabah  from 29th April until 12th May 2021 while EMCO has been lifted on three villages and six residential areas in Tawau Sabah on 28th April 2021 as scheduled.

“The three villages and residential areas affected include Kampung Ranggu Batu 10, Mukim Balung, Fasa Dua Taman Semarak, Mukim Sri Tanjung and Kampung Tanjung Batu Keramat.

“EMCO has also been lifted on Politeknik Mukah Sarawak on 28th April, earlier than scheduled on 6th May 2021 after all the occupants had been screen tested twice with the last two cases recorded on 25th April  2021,” Ismail said.

Earlier Ismail said, the Ministry of Health (MOH) had recorded 264 positive COVID-19 cases from 1,703 screening tests and all the close contacts of the positive cases had been identified and placed separately at the quarantine centre.

Regarding non-compliances on the standard operating procedure (SOP) of the MCO, Ismail said yesterday 282 individuals had been detained and out of which 277 had been issued with compounds while five were remanded.

Among the offences committed were; not registering when entering the premises (98); not wearing mask (63), no physical distancing (64) and others (57). – Malaysia World News       

more recommended stories