MB of Terengganu Ahmad Samsuri won the Kemaman parliamentary by-election with 37,220 majority votes

FB IMG 1701530979132


KEMAMAN: The Menteri Besar of Terengganu, Datuk Seri Dr. Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar from Perikatan Nasional (PN) won the Kemaman parliamentary by-election garnering 64,998 votes with majority 37,220.

Ahmad Samsuri had defeated Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Rtd. General Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor who managed to gather 27,778 votes.

With the victory, PAS has succeeded in maintaining the status quo with bigger majority collecting more than 10,000 votes.

The result of the Kemaman parliamentary by-election was announced by the Election Management Officer, Ahmad Farhan Abdul Wahab at the Dewan Berlian Utama, Majlis Perbandaran Kemaman here Saturday.
According to Ahmad Farhan, the voters turn out was 65.76 percent with 49 voting centres involving 244 voting channels,

However,  the number of voters was a bit lesser than the earlier target of 70 percent made by the Election Commission of Malaysia (SPR).

The Kemaman by-election was called following the Terengganu Election Court’s ruling on 26th Sept. nullifying Che Alias Hamid’s GE15 victory.

The petitioner had successfully proven the existence of elements of corruption during the campaign period.

The Election Commission (EC) had set polling day for the Kemaman parliamentary by-election on Dec 2, nomination day on Nov 18, and early voting on Nov 28.

In GE15, Perikatan Nasional’s Che Alias won the seat with a majority of 27,179 votes after obtaining 65,714 votes to defeat Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Seri Ahmad Said who obtained 38,535 votes, Pakatan Harapan’s Hasuni Sudin (8,340 votes) and Pejuang’s Rosli Ab. Ghani (506 votes). – Malaysia World News




more recommended stories