Malaysia records 1,063 new COVID-19 cases, 5 deaths, 5 new clusters

FB IMG 1604666768591


PUTRAJAYA MAR.16: For the first time this year Malaysia has recorded the lowest with 1,063 new COVID-19 cases bringing the cumulative total to 326,034 with 15,204 active cases.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, from the new cases, four were imported involving non-citizens while out of 1,059 cases 814 (76.9%)  involving the citizens with 245 (23.1%) non-citizens.

There were 1,365 discharged cases adding the cumulative total to 309,612 (95.0%).

However from the new cases, 152 had been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 68 cases needed respiratory aids. Five deaths involving Malaysians were recorded today bringing the death toll to 1,218 cases or 0.37%.

 “The deaths were three in Sarawak and one each from Selangor and Kuala Lumpur,” said Dr. Noor Hisham in a statement here today.

In the midst of decreasing trend in new COVID-19 cases nationwide, five new clusters had been formed with three clusters in Sarawak and one each in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, three new clusters were formed in the community including two in Sarawak and one in Kelantan while one each in Sarawak and Kuala Lumpur had occurred at the work places.

According to the Ministry of Health, there had been 1,255 clusters since the COVID-19 pandemic started early 2020 and today 827 clusters had ended with 428 clusters still active.

Selangor has reported 324 cases (30.4%) being the highest in new COVID-19 cases and from that 284 cases (88.0%) are from the clusters and close contact screenings that have been carried out actively on the grounds. This follows by Sarawak with 183 cases (17.2%) with Penang 175 cases (16.5%).

Meanwhile eight cases (0.8%) reported were from the clusters in the prison involving Pengkalan Chepa Wall (5), Bukit Besi Wall (1), Jalan Harapan Prison (1) and Jalan Awang (1).

States with new COVID-19 cases include Selangor (323), Sabah (38), Johor (91), Kuala Lumpur (86), Negeri Sembilan (17), Penang (175), Sarawak (183), Perak (24), Kedah (32), Melaka (1), Kelantan (67), Pahang (2), Terengganu (23) and Labuan (1).-Malaysia World News


more recommended stories