Ismail is now officially the ninth Prime Minister of Malaysia after receiving a letter of appointment from the King

ismail sabri sworn


KUALA LUMPUR AUG.21: Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob is officially the ninth Prime Minister of Malaysia after he received the letter of appointment from His Majesty Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al- Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Billah Al-Mustafa Billah Shah in Istana Negara here at 2.30 pm today.

The Prime Minister then read the oath of loyalty and keeping the secrecy of the government before signing the documents of his appointment in a special audience at Istana Negara that took place less than 30 minutes.

sabri sworn in palace prime minister

The special and historical event at the Istana Negara was attended by 30 guests including nine representatives from political parties namely UMNO President, Datuk Seri Dr.Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, former Prime Minister and Bersatu President, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, PAS President, Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, Former Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, MCA President, Datuk Seri Ir. Dr. Wee Ka Siong, MIC Deputy President, Datuk Seri M.Saravanan and United Sabah People’s Party (PBRS) Deputy President, Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup and other party leaders.  

Ismail is the ninth Prime Minister (PM) of Malaysia and before him was Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who held the post for 17 months since March 2020 until 16th Aug.2021 and earlier Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad as the 7th PM from May 2018 until March 2020.

This is the first time Malaysia has three Prime Ministers in a period less than five years after the 14th General Election in 2018. –Malaysia World News   


more recommended stories