I’m confident Anwar will win the seat and become our 8th prime minister, says quitting MP Danyal

anwar ibrahim and Danyal Balagopal Abdullah

PETALING JAYA: Danyal Balagopal Abdullah (pic, right) is confident PKR President Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will become the next Prime Minister of Malaysia.

“I’m confident that Anwar will win the seat and will proceed as the next MP for Port Dickson and become our 8th prime minister,” he said  in a press conference held at the PKR headquarters here today, after having exited as Port Dickson Member of Parliament (MP) and given his seat to Anwar Ibrahim.

When asked by reporters the reason behind vacating his seat for Anwar Ibrahim, he said: “I’m not vacating this seat out of enjoyment.”

Malay Mail  Online has also quoted him saying that  he was not a “traitor” to the people of his constituency for vacating his seat to give way to PKR president-elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

“The word ‘khianat’ (traitor) is a bit too strong. I have campaigned for one and half years and I come from a rural area. I have seen poverty.

“Today, when I want to vacate the seat it is not out of enjoyment, but I think my strategy is my own view and it has nothing to do with Pakatan Harapan or PKR,” he said.

 Danyal Balagopal made the announcement to vacant the Port Dickson seat today to give way for Anwar to return to the Parliament.

The announcement was made in a Press Conference held at PKR head office here. It was attended by PKR General Secretary, Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail and the candidate for Deputy PKR President, Rafizi Ramli.

With Anwar contesting in Port Dickson it will be the 4th by-election. The three by-elections held before were Sungai Kandis and followed by Balakong and Seri Setia on September 8. 

Danyal’s resignation letter was later handed to the Dewan Rakyat Speaker today. 

Meanwhile, Saifuddin said the parliamentary seat of Port Dickson was chosen for Anwar to contest after the party members in Pakatan Harapan (PH) have agreed upon notification.

In the 14th General Election, Danyal won the Port Dickson seat with 36,225 votes while Barisan Nasional’s VS Mogan had 18,515 votes and Mahfuz Roslan from PAS garnered 6,594 votes. Danyal had a comfortable majority of 17,110 votes. –Malaysia World News.

Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories