Heated debate on the SST bill to replace GST at Dewan Rakyat



KUALA LUMPUR: The Dewan Rakyat passed the Sales Tax Bill 2018 following its second reading by Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng on Tuesday.

Members of Parliament (MPs) from Pakatan Harapan (PH) and the opposition had a heated debate on the bill to replace GST as promised by PH in their manifesto.

Earlier, Datuk Seri Dr. Ronald Kiandee (BN-Beluran) had tabled a motion that the bill debated at the committee stage to be handed to the Select Committee.

The motion was tabled in accordance with Standing Order 54(2).

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Mohd. Yusof then called for a block voting as the rule stated that the motion cannot be debated but decided by the Dewan Rakyat.

However after the block voting, Mohamad Ariff announced that the motion was rejected with 111 MPs disagreed while 51 agreed and four others abstained.

Mohamad Ariff then ordered the debate at the bill committee stage to be continued on Wednesday. –Malaysia World News

Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories