GPS won Sarawak State Election 2021, Johari Abang Openg sworn in as Chief Minister

FB IMG 1639847886011

KUALA LUMPUR DEC.18: The Sarawak Parties Alliance (GPS) has succeeded to form the government after they garnered a landslide victory in the 2021 Sarawak State Election today after grabbing 75 out of 82 seats.

The results of the election was announced by the Malaysian Election Commission Chairman, Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh and informed that the result for Mulu seat could not be announced as the helicopter carrying the ballot box could not take off for safety reason as the weather was bad today.

Abdul Ghani said, MEC will announce it as soon as the result is out and inform that the PBS has won four seats, DAP grabbed two seats and the other parties including Amanah, PKR, PAS, PBDSB, Independent, PBK, Sedar, and Aspirasi did not win any seat.

GPS managed to form the state government after winning 45 seats at 8.45pm this evening and obtained more than 50 per cent from the total seats contested for the 19th Sarawak State Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile at 10.30pm, Tan Sri Abang Abdul Rahman Johari Abang Openg,71, has sworn in as the sixth Chief Minister of Sarawak before the Governor of the State of Sarawak, Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud at Astana with the presence of other distinguished guests.

By winning the state election, GPS will lead Sarawak government for the next five years. –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories