Federal Territories to become smart cities by 2030 – PM Anwar


KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said in line with the concept of Madani Malaysia the government aims to turn the federal territories into smart cities by 2030.

Anwar said, the Madani emphasises on the aspect of sustainability with the concept of green city and smart city.

“The Federal Territories Department has also drawn up a development agenda for the future in a sustainable, livable and smart manner.

“Among other programmes that have been drawn are the use of electric buses in Kuala Lumpur, Wangsa Maju as a pilot low-carbon city, additional installation of CCTV (closed-circuit cameras) in Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya and the installation of WiFi in people’s housing and public housing projects in Labuan,” he said as quoted by Bernama.

The prime minister said this in his loyalty speech at the investiture ceremony in conjunction with the 2023 Federal Territory Day at Istana Negara today.

“Based on the Federal Territory’s urban sustainability achievements measured through the Malaysian Urban Indicators Network (MURNInet) by the Town and Country Planning Department (PLANMalaysia) the three federal territories would achieve an excellent sustainable level in 2022.

“I strongly believe the Federal Territories Department, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and agencies will continue to move as a team to administer and manage the progress and development of the federal territories.

“I am determined to ensure that the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan are administered in the best way so that the benefits of prosperity and peace can be enjoyed by the people of diverse races and cultures,” he said.

In conjunction with the Federal Territory Day 2023 celebration today the Yang di Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustaffa Billah Shah had conferred several awards, honours and medals to 164 recipients.

The Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Kedua Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) that carries the Datuk Seri title were awarded to seven recipients and 15 others were conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Ketiga Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) which comes with the title “Datuk.”

Meanwhile, 16 had received the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW), 19 were awarded the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW), 15 received the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 92 were awarded the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW).- Malaysia World News

more recommended stories