EMCO imposed on 4 villages in Pahang, 4 localities in Sabah, extended EMCO on 4 localities in Tawau – Minister

20210413 223024

KUALA LUMPUR APR.13: Four villages in Temerloh district, Pahang and four localities in Sabah are imposed with Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) effective 14th until 27th April 2021 due to the increase in new COVID-19 cases with high infectivity rate.

Senior and Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, the four villages in Temerloh district are Kampung Paya Pulai Tengah, Kampung Pulau Terap, Paya Pulai-Kampung Batu 4 and Paya Pulai-Kampung Batu 5, Jalan Maran.
Ismail said, 16 positive COVID-19 cases had been recorded from 234 screening tests carried out in the localities.

“After a risk analysis was carried out with several agencies in the MCO Technical Committee and with the advice of Ministry of Health (MOH), the government agreed to impose EMCO for two weeks until 27th April 2021 in the four localities,” said Ismail in a statement here today.

The implementation of the EMCO said Ismail is to ensure the movements of the people in the localities could be controlled and to prevent the COVID-19 infections from spreading outside the community.

Meanwhile, the four localities in Sabah imposed with EMCO are Pasir Sim-Sim & Sim-Sim Housing, Mukim Berhala and Kampung Sungai Obar, Batu 7, Mukim Sentosa Sandakan District, Taman Villa Mas, Tawau, Sabah and Kampung Melangkap Tomis, Kota Belud, Sabah.

According to Ismail, in the Sim-Sim Housing area, 38 screening tests had been carried out and out of which 17 positive COVID-19 had been recorded. In Kampung Sungai Obar, Batu 7, Mukim Sentosa, 10 cases had been recorded from 46 screening tests.

In Taman Villa Mas, Tawau Sabah, Ismail said seven positive COVID-19 cases had been recorded from 42 screening tests carried out and MOH confirmed that there was a surge in COVID-19 cases within a week and there were 35 screen tests results still pending.

Meanwhile, EMCO had been extended in four localities in Tawau Sabah effective 15th until 28th April 2021 and that includes Kampung Ranggu Batu 10, Mukim Balung, Phase 2 Taman Semarak, Mukim Balung, Kampung Baru Pasir Putih, Mukim Sri Tanjung while Kampung Simpang 3A, Merotai Besar the extended EMCO will start from 16th until 29th April.

On another development EMCO had been lifted on two localities including YTY Factory and Workers’ Hostel, Lekir, Setiawan, Perak on 15th April 2021.

Ismail said, MOH had carried out 1,248 screening tests and out of which 647 positive COVID-19 cases had been recorded. MOH has also confirmed there is no new case reported since 6th April 2021 and all close contacts will end the House Surveillance Order (HSO) on 15th April 2021.

The EMCO in Kampung Rimbayan, Keningau, Sabah has also been lifted on 15th April 2021. MOH had carried out 304 screening tests and out of which 43 positive COVID-19 cases had been recorded.

“MOH had confirmed the remaining active cases in the locality had shown a decreasing trend and all positive cases had received treatment,” said Ismail.

On the Task Force Compliance Operation, Ismail said, 73 individuals had been detained and out of which 64 were compounded and nine remanded.

Among the offences recorded include not wearing mask (21), failing to record personal particulars/not registering when entering premises (14), activities in entertainment centres (13), no physical distancing (6), inter-state travel /district without permission (4) and others (15). –Malaysia World News


Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories