EMCO imposed on 10 residential areas in Temerloh, Pahang effective Feb 21



KUALA LUMPUR FEB.20: The government has decided to impose Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) effective 21st Feb. until 6th March 2021in the residential areas around Jalan Telok Ira, Temerloh Pahang following the sudden increase in COVID-19 cases among the residents.

Senior and Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, the sudden spike in COVID-19 cases in the residential areas concerned was confirmed when 72 positive cases were recorded.

Ismail said, after a risk analysis was carried out with several agencies in the MCO Technical Committee and with the advice of the Ministry of Health (MOH), the government had agreed to impose EMCO on the 10 residential areas.
The 10 residential areas are: Taman Desa Bangau, Taman Seberang Damai, Taman Kenari, Taman Seberang Temerloh,Taman Jaya 7, Taman Jaya 2, Taman Jaya 3, Taman Jaya 4, Taman Kelisa and Desa Bangau.

“The EMCO is implemented to enable MOH to carry out targeted screening tests on the residents involved to control the corona virus from spreading into the community,” said Ismail in a statement here today.

Meanwhile, the EMCO that has been imposed in Bandar Raub Perdana, Raub, Pahang that is scheduled to end on 25th February 2021 has been lifted earlier on 20th February (today) as only three positive COVID-19 detected from 287 screening tests.

“MOH confirmed that the transmission of COVID-19 was under-control in this locality and the close contacts, targeted group among the residents had been identified, samples were collected and they had been isolated,” Ismail added.

Regarding non-compliance to the standard operating procedure (SOP) of the MCO, Ismail said, 461 individuals had been detained and out of which 430 were compounded while 31 remanded.

Among the non compliance activities committed were inter-state/district travel without permission (135), fail to adhere to physical distancing (128), fail to equip tools to record particulars of customer (72), not wearing mask (67), premises operating over the permitted time/without permission (17) and others (42).

Relating to the National Border Control, Ismail said, Op Benteng had detained 11 illegal immigrants with three “masters” and seized eight land vehicles.

According to Ismail, in the operation, the authorities had identified 119 boats/ships on the Malaysian waters via four observatory activities.

Among the authorities in the Op Benteng involving 543 road blocks carried out in the country yesterday were the Royal Police Malaysia (RPM), Malaysian Armed Forces (MAF), Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (APMM), Malaysian Border Safety Agency (AKSEM) and other security agencies. –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories