EC: By-election for Port Dickson parliamentary seat on October 13

By election anwar ibrahhim Photo AFP MOHD RASFAN
Anwar Ibrahim- Photo AFP

PUTRAJAYA: The by-election for the Port Dickson parliamentary seat will be held on October 13 as announced by Election Commission (EC) Deputy Chairman Tan Sri Othman Mahmood today.

He said, the nomination of candidates will be on Saturday September 29 and the campaigning will last for 14 days.

“EC has also decided October 9 for early voting while the application for postal voting overseas and locally will be opened on September 20 and closed on September 29,” he said in a press conference at EC Headquarters here today.

He said, for the Port Dickson by-election, registered voters until the second quarter of 2018 and updated until September 11 will be used.

“The registered voters consist of 75,770 and 68,486 of which are normal voters, 7,268 early voters and 16 voters are abroad and absent. The voters’ registration will be sold starting September 27, 2018,” he added.

Othman said voters can also check the voters’ registration to get information on the polling station, voting channel and their registration numbers on the website or phone 03-8892-7018 or SMS 15888 or using apps MySPR.

The Parliamentary seat in Port Dickson (PD) was vacated by MP Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah of PKR after he resigned on September 12 to make way for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s return to Parliament.

The PD by-election will be the fourth held since the General Election on May 9th but this is the first for a parliamentary seat. The other three for Selangor State Assembly and they were for Sungai Kandis, Seri Setia and Balakong  and all won by Pakatan Harapan’s (PH) candidates. – Malaysia World News


more recommended stories