Dewan Rakyat Speaker to decide on the seats of six Bersatu MPs’who have been expelled –PM Anwar

Screenshot 20240622 084439 Facebook

PETALING JAYA: The decision whether the six Members of Parliament who have been expelled from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) will retain their seats or otherwise will depend on the Dewan Rakyat Speaker to decide, says Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Anwar said, the issue of six Bersatu Parliamentary seats has been referred to the Dewan Rakyat Speaker (Tan Sri Johari Abdul). Let him decide on that,” he said to the reporters after performing Friday prayers at Tun Abdul Aziz Mosque here today.

Meanwhile, Article 49A(1) of the Federal Constitution states that a Dewan Rakyat seat shall become vacant if the MP resigns from his party or ceases to be a member or joins another party. However, Article 49A (2) (c) states that an exception to the vacancy rule is if the member is expelled from the party.

It was reported that Bersatu had earlier submitted a notice to Johari requesting that the six parliamentary seats held by its representatives, who supported Anwar, be vacated.

“The notice to inform the vacancies at the six parliamentary seats was submitted in accordance to Article 49A of the Federal Constitution,” said Bersatu vice president Datuk Dr. Ronald Kiandee in a statement.
According to Kiandee, as the Bersatu chief whip, he had signed the notices on the vacancies at the six parliamentary seats.

The six Bersatu MPs who supported Anwar were Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul (Bukit Gantang), Datuk Dr Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), and Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanafi (Tanjong Karang).

On another development, the Dewan Rakyat will convene for 15 days starting this Monday until July 18.




more recommended stories