COVID-19: 3 new clusters, 12,843 actives cases, 3 deaths

covid 19 patients

PUTRAJAYA NOV.22: Three new clusters namely Pangkalan Barat, Bakti and Bayam Indah have been formed today contributing to the daily new COVID-19 cases to 1,096 with the cumulative total of 54,775.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, the Pangkalan Barat cluster occurred in Penang, Kerian district, Kuala Kangsar and Kinta in Perak. Until 22nd November, 251 individuals had been screened and 19 were detected with positive COVID-19.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, the Bakti cluster was originated from a prison in Seremban district, Negeri Sembilan. As of 22nd Nov. 481 had been screened and 16 were found with positive COVID-19.

Meanwhile the Bayam Indah cluster was from Kulim district in Kedah. Until 22nd Nov.70 individuals had been screened and 10 were detected with the positive corona virus infections.

Elaborating on the situation, Dr. Noor Hisham said, 330 clusters had been reported and today three new clusters were formed while 163 clusters had ended.

“Four clusters that ended today included Kasih, Baiduri, Long and Bestari. However, 167 clusters are still active and being monitored by the Ministry of Health (MOH) and out of which 54 clusters have recorded a rise in new COVID-19 cases.

“The clusters that have recorded an increase in new COVID-19 cases include Teratai (504), Tembok (42) and Kaya (20),” said Dr. Noor Hisham in a statement here today.

Dr. Noor Hisham also mentioned that 1,104 patients have been discharged bringing the cumulative total to 41,597 (75.9%) while 12,843 cases are active and being treated in the hospitals nationwide.

From the new cases, Dr. Noor Hisham said, 104 had been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 46 needed respiratory aids while three deaths were recorded bringing the death toll to 335 or 0.6%.

The states that have recorded new COVID-19 cases today include Selangor being the highest contributor with 603 cases, Sabah (311), Perak (55), Kuala Lumpur (30), Negeri Sembilan (29), Kedah (16), Penang (15), Labuan (13), Johor (9), Kelantan (8), Melaka (5), Putrajaya (1) and Perlis (1). – Malaysia World News

more recommended stories