COVID-19: 18,074 cured cases supersede 13,899 new cases, 1,860 total variant infections – DG Dr. Noor Hisham

Screenshot 20210926 000622 Facebook

PUTRAJAYA SEPT.25: The 18,074 cured cases of COVID-19 recorded today have brought the cumulative total to 1,968,541 or 90.1 per cent and have superseded the daily new cases of 13,899 that brought the cumulative total to 2,185,131.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, from the new cases, 12,571 or 90.5 per cent are involving the citizens while 1,322 non-citizens or 9.5 per cent.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, from the new cases, 1,071 cases were admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU), 847 were COVID-19 confirmed cases; 224 suspected cases, probabilities and cases under investigation while 601 cases needed respiratory aids with 359 cases confirmed COVID-19, 242 suspected cases, probabilities and cases under investigation.

He added, 211 cases or 1.5 per cent were in categories 3, 4, and 5 and another 13,688 cases or 98.5 per cent were from categories 1 and 2.
On another development, Dr. Noor Hisham reported that the cumulative number of cases infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus categorized as VOC and Variant of Interest (VOI) are 1,860 cases.

“From the total detected, 1,840 cases were VOC while 20 cases were VOI. In total, to date for VOC there are 1,612 cases of Delta variant, 214 cases of Beta variant, and 14 cases of Alpha variant. As for VOI, there were 13 cases of Theta variant, four cases of Kappa variant, and three (3) cases of Eta variant,” Dr. Noor Hisham said in a statement here today.

Dr. Noor Hisham added, the new clusters have dropped to 12 today, involving 5 at the workplaces, two community clusters, three high risk, one other education and one religious cluster.

States contributing to new COVID-19 cases today are Sarawak with 2,712, Selangor (2,341), Johor (1,377), Kelantan (1,170), Perak (1,128), Pulau Pinang (1,060), Sabah (962), Pahang (779), Terengganu (760), Kedah (708), Melaka (339), Kuala Lumpur (310), Negeri Sembilan (194), Putrajaya (37), Perlis (17) and Labuan (5). –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories