COVID-19: 17 new clusters, 23 deaths, 3,120 new cases, 338 admitted to ICU

PUTRAJAYA MAY 4: Seventeen new COVID-19 clusters have been formed including seven in the community, five at the work places, four in the education sectors involving one institution under the Ministry of Education (MOE) and one religious cluster.

Health Director, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, the seven clusters formed in the community are two in Sarawak, Johor (2), Kelantan (1), Kedah (1) and Labuan (1) while the work places with one each in Selangor, Johor, Kelantan, Kuala Lumpur and Penang.

He said, the clusters categorised as other education include one each in Kedah, Perak and Sabah while the education institution is formed in Johor and one religious cluster in Johor.

“The new cases have reached 3,120 bringing the cumulative total to 420,632 with 2,334 discharged adding to the grand total to 387,542 with 31,516 active cases.

“From the new cases, 338 had been admitted to the intensive Care Units (ICU) while 181 needed respiratory aids with 23 deaths adding the cumulative total to 1,574 or 0.37% involving all Malaysians,” Dr. Noor Hisham said in a statement here today.

The 23 deaths said Dr. Noor Hisham includes six each in Kelantan and Selangor, four in Sarawak, and two each from Johor and Sabah and one each in Kedah, Perak and Melaka.  

Dr. Noor Hisham also mentioned that out of the new cases six were imported, local transmissions involving 2,918 (93.7%) Malaysians while 196 (6.3%) were non-citizens.

Selangor remains with its highest daily record of 675 (21.6%) new COVID-19 cases and out of which 493 (73.0%) are from the clusters and close contact screening tests for positive COVID-19 that have been carried on the grounds. This is followed by Sarawak with 620 cases (19.9%) and Kuala Lumpur with 408 (13.1%).

Meanwhile 70 cases (2.2%) recorded are related to the clusters in the detention centres including Sri Lalang Wall (57), Jalan Meru Utama (11) and Siput Dua Wall cluster (2).

The states contributing to new COVID-19 cases are Selangor with 675 cases, Sabah (89), Johor (336), Kula Lumpur (408), Sarawak (620),Penang (167), Negeri Sembilan (95), Kelantan (296), Perak (117), Kedah (155), Melaka (52) Pahang (41), Terengganu (53), Labuan (5) Putrajaya 11 and Perlis (0). Malaysia World News


more recommended stories