COVID-19: 12 new clusters, 13 deaths, 300 admitted to ICU, 2,776 new cases

FB IMG 1608195713006

PUTRAJAYA APR.26:  Twelve new clusters have been formed involving four at work places and community, two affecting education sectors including one institution under the Ministry of Education and one each in the religion and detention centre.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, the clusters formed at the work places include, Pondok Belaga (Sarawak), Kampung Batu Sembilan (Selangor), Tapak Bina Tanjung Kupan, Jalan Raja Bukit Pasir (Johor); while the four clusters in the community are Jalan Sebauh-Bintulu (Sarawak); Jalan Arumugam Pillai (Pulau Pinang); Kota Syahbandar and Jalan Kesidang (Melaka); Sungai Senibung (Sarawak) and Kampung Panhkal Chuit (Kelantan) involving education institution; Jalan Impian Emas 17 (Johor) affecting religion and Kampung Selamat (Pulau Pinang) at the detention centre.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, 2,776 new COVID-19 cases were recorded bringing the cumulative total to 395,718 while 1,803 cases were discharged adding to the grand total to 369,556 or 93.4% with 24,713 active cases.

“From the new cases, 300 had been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 133 needed respiratory aids. Thirteen deaths (0.37%) were recorded involving 12 Malaysians and one non-citizen,” Dr. Noor Hisham said in a statement here today.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, the deaths include six in Sarawak, three (Selangor), two (Sabah), and one each from Kelantan and Johor.

He added, from the new cases, 2,383 (85.9%) were involving Malaysians with 390 (14.1%) foreigners while two were imported cases affecting two citizens and one foreigner.

Selangor had recorded the highest with 762 cases (27.4%) and out of which 577 were from clusters and close contact screenings for positive COVID-19 cases that had been carried out on the grounds and Sarawak with 615 cases (22.2%) and Kelantan 343 cases (12.4%).

Meanwhile the states with new COVID-19 cases include Selangor with 762 cases, Sabah (88), Johor (309), Kuala Lumpur (254), Sarawak (615), Penang (123), Negeri Sembilan (112), Perak (45), Kelantan (343), Kedah (39), Melaka (34), Pahang (34), Terengganu (9), Labuan (2), Putrajaya (7) and Perlis (0). –Malaysia World News



more recommended stories