Compulsory COVID-19  swab tests on all foreign workers in six states – Senior Minister

swap test

KUALA LUMPUR NOV.20:- All foreign workers in Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Sabah, Labuan and Kuala Lumpur will have to compulsorily do swab test –RTK-Antigen to reduce the infectivity risk of COVID-19 amongst them.

Senior and Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, as of 31st October 2020, there are 1,615,834 active foreign workers in Malaysia and in these states there are many industrial areas with the presence of huge number of foreign workers.

Ismail said, for foreign workers who are members of the Social Security Organization (SOCSO) the costs of the screen tests will be borne together by the employers and SOCSO subsidy.

“The RM60 subsidy for the screen test of RTK-Antigen could be claimed from SOCSO and the remaining cost will be paid by the employer.

“For foreign workers who are not SOCSO members, the screen tests of COVID-19 will be fully paid by the employers,” said Ismail in his daily press conference held here today.

Ismail said, the implementation of the screen test on all foreign workers is due to the risk valuation that shows the infectivity risk amongst foreign workers is higher compared to the local workers.

In another development, the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) in Kedah, Melaka, Johor and Terengganu had been lifted effective 21st Nov. due to the declining trend of COVID-19 cases in these states.

Meanwhile Kelantan that was placed under RMCO earlier had been put under CMCO effective 21st Nov. until 6th Dec. following the surge in the corona virus infections in many districts and villages in the state.

Ismail said, in Kedah only Kulim remains under CMCO as it has 23 active cases out of 85 cases recorded until 18th Nov. for the whole state.

“In Melaka, only 48 active cases were recorded until 18th Nov. while in Johor only Kota Tinggi and Mersing districts remained under CMCO as 36 and 8 active cases were recorded respectively.

“In Terengganu until 17th Nov. only 19 cases have been recorded and the situation in the whole state is under control and there is no sporadic case recorded in the past 14 days,” he said.

Ismail added the standard operating procedure (SOP) of the “Domestic Green Travel Bubble” tabled by the Ministry of Tourism. Arts and Culture (MOTAC) to reactivate the activities under the domestic tourism has been accepted by the special meeting held today.

Ismail said the meeting has agreed to allow travel across districts in the green states and this movement need not have the permission from the Royal Police Malaysia (RPM) while in the travel between green states, the movements also need not need police permission.

Meanwhile he mentioned that in the travel between green states by passing through the red states, the movements are allowed with the permission of the police while travel across district/states and green states to green district in a red state are allowed but also with the police permission.

The “Domestic Green Travel Bubble” said Ismail will be effective 22nd Nov.2020 and the My Sejahtera Apps will be used to trace whether a person comes from the green zone.

According to Ismail, with the advice of the Ministry of Health (MOH) the government has agreed to impose the Enhanced MCO (EMCO) on K-Avenue, Megacity Penampang, Sabah following 110 positive COVID-19 cases had been recorded in the locality until 16th Nov.2020.

The Senior Minister said, the EMCO will start on 22nd Nov. until 5th Dec.2020 and it affects offices, workers’ quarters and construction sites involving 400 households. –Malaysia World News

more recommended stories