Citizens of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal barred from entering Malaysia 

KUALA LUMPUR MAY 5: The Movement Control Order (MCO) will be imposed on Kuala Lumpur effective 7th May until 20th May 2021 following 17 new clusters have been formed with the daily COVID-19 cases on the increasing trend.

Senior and Defence Minister, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said, the 17 clusters had been formed from 1st April until 27th April 2021 and after the Ministry of Health (MOH) presented the COVID-19 situation in Kuala Lumpur, the government agreed to enforce MCO with the same standard operating procedure (SOP) that had been set in other states.

Ismail said, the inter-state travel is not allowed except for emergency and work purposes.

“Food premises such as restaurants, food truck, traders and kiosks are allowed to operate from 6.00am until 12 midnight while dining in the food shop is not allowed and the food should be packed to be taken home.

“Ramadan Bazaar in MCO areas are allowed to operate following strict SOP, however the decision to continue or close operation is subject to the state government via the local authorities.

“The details of the SOP for Kuala Lumpur MCO, social and tourism activities could be referred to the National Security Council’s (NSC) website at WWW.MKN.GOV.MY,” Ismail said in a statement here today.

Ismail said, based on the current COVID-19 situation, the government has banned the organisation of official and non-official government and private sectors’ functions  and also social activities such as party, wedding, engagement, reception, “aqiqah” “tahlil”, birthday party, reunion, retreat and other social events in areas under MCO.

 In another development, MCO has also been imposed in 14 sub-districts in Besut district except Hulu Besut sub-district in Terengganu; Johor Bahru, Kulai and KotaTinggi, Johor; Taiping sub-district, Larut district, Matang and Selama in Perak.

The MCO in these localities will be imposed on 7th May until 20th May 2021due to the surge in COVID-19 cases with high infectivity rate.

The 14 sub-districts in Besut district involved in the MCO include Kampung Raja, Leubuk Kawah, Pelagat, Tenang, Keluang, Bukit Kenak, Kubang Bemban, Jabi, Kerandang, Pengkalan Nangka, Pasir Akar, Tembila, Bukit Puteri and Kuala Besut.    

Meanwhile Enhanced MCO (EMCO) has been imposed on Kampung Lubok Katak, Tapah, Batang Padang Perak; Kampung PermatangTulang Sebatu sub-district, Jasin Melaka and Religious Secondary School (SMU) Pantai Manis, Papar, Sabah effective 7th May until 20th May 2021.

Regarding the sanction of foreigners from entering Malaysia due to the current critical global COVID-19 situation, Ismail said, the government has extended the sanction to the citizens of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal apart from India.

Ismail said, despite the sanction, exemption will be granted to diplomatic passport holder and official that is provided in the Vienna Convention about Diplomatic Relation 1961. These categories will be considered to enter Malaysia by adhering to the existing SOP. –Malaysia World News   


more recommended stories