Cheras Umno division leader Syed Ali quits UMNO party

Syed Ali Al Habshee
Syed Ali Alhabshee – Pic by umnobahagiancheras

PETALING JAYA: Cheras Umno division leader Syed Ali Alhabshee has left UMNO party.

He is the third Umno leader to leave the party, following Mustapa Mohamed and Anifah Aman who resigned last week.

Syed Ali’s resignation was confirmed by Sinar Harian this afternoon.

“I would like to officially announce that I have made a decision with a heavy heart, to quit Umno,” he was quoted as saying.

Since Barisan Nasional (BN) was defeated and ousted in the 14th general election after having ruled the country for more than 60 years many UMNO leaders have resigned from the party, among them the former ministers Mustapa Mohamed, Anifah, Masjid Tanah MP Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, Bukit Gantang MP Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal, and Bagan Serai MP Noor Azmi Ghazali.

The current Umno president now is Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories