Azman (PN) won Padang Serai parliamentary seat, Johari (BN) retained Tioman state seat in 15th GE

Screenshot 20221208 173327

KUALA LUMPUR: The Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate, Datuk Azman Nasrudin had won the parliamentary seat of Padang Serai, Kedah at the 15th General Election held on Wednesday (7th Dec.2022).

Azman had garnered a majority of 16,260 votes against his close rival from Pakatan Harapan (PH) Dr. Mohamad Sofee Razak. The defeat indirectly had ended the PH stronghold in the Parliamentary seat of Padang Serai.

The election in Padang Serai had witnessed a six corner fight between Dr. Mohamad Sofee Razak (PH), Datuk C. Sivaraajh (Barisan Nasional), Datuk Azman Nasrudin (PN), Hamzah Abd. Rahman (Pejuang), Mohd Bakhri Hashim (Warisan) and Sreanandha (Independent).

The 15th General Election for the Padang Serai parliamentary seat had to be postponed due to the death of M.Karupaiya, PH candidate on 16th Nov. due to heart attack while campaigning for the 2022 general election.

Meanwhile in the Tioman state seat election, the BN candidate Datuk Seri Johari Hussain had succeeded to retain his seat with 573 majorities after securing 8,080 votes.

Johari had retained the Tioman state seat since 2008. He had defeated his closest contestant Nor Idayu Hashim from PN who garnered 7,507 votes Mohd. Fadzli Mohd Ramly from PH who announced his decision to make way for Johari in the Tioman polls had garnered 784 votes. Pejuang’s Osman A.Bakar gained 79 votes while independent candidate Sulaiman Bakar had received 58 votes.

The 15th General Election for the Tioman state seat was postponed due to the death of PN candidate Md. Yunus Ramli, 61, on polling day 19th Nov. 2022. –Malaysia World News


more recommended stories