302,580 had been infected with covid-19, 25,542 active cases, 275,903 discharged

general electiond

PUTRAJAYA 1 March: Johor records the highest COVID-19 infections today with 490 contributing to 1,828 new cases adding the cumulative total to 302,580 with 25,542 active cases in the country.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, 2,486 had been discharged bringing the cumulative total to 275,903 (91.2%) while 198 had been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 90 needed respiratory aids.

“From the new cases 1,821 were involving the citizens (58.1%) with 763 non-citizens (41.9%) while seven cases were imported involving four Malaysians and three non-citizens.

“Five deaths were recorded today involving Malaysians that brought the death toll to 1,135 (0.38%) affecting two cases each in Sabah and Kuala Lumpur and one case in Melaka,” said Dr. Noor Hisham said in a statement here today.

Dr. Noor Hisham added, seven new clusters were formed today including five at the work places and one each in the community and high risk group. 

Meanwhile the clusters formed at the work places in Johor include Kampung Sungai Burung; Jalan Wawasan 12 and Jalan Kempas while the two clusters in Selangor were Jalan Melati and Desa Empat and the cluster in the community was Bukit Marak while the Jalan Cempedak was the high risk group cluster in Kuala Lumpur.

Johor reported the highest with 490 new cases (26.8%) and from that 453 (92.4%) were from clusters and close contact screening tests of COVID-19 that were carried out actively on the grounds. Selangor follows with 453 cases (24.8%) and Sarawak with 220 cases (12.0%).

On the other hand, 113 cases (6.2%) reported were from related clusters at the prisons and immigration detention depots involving Tapah Wall (80); Telok Mas (7); Pengkalan Chepa Wall (7);Taiping Wall (6); Seberang Perai Prison (5); Bendera Wall (4); Sungai Jelok Prison (3) and Bukit Besi Wall (1).

States contributing to COVID-19 today include Selangor with 453 cases; Sabah (104); Johor (490); Kuala Lumpur (75); Negeri Sembilan (167); Penang (85); Perak (144); Sarawak (220); Kedah (16); Melaka (8); Kelantan (36); Pahang (8); Terengganu (15); Putrajaya (6) and Perlis (1). –Malaysia World News


more recommended stories