24 new COVID-19 cases in Perlis under investigation, 8 new clusters, 3 deaths

IMG 20201211 WA0030

PUTRAJAYA MAR.7: Perlis has recorded 24 COVID-19 infections today after a long time being free from the pandemic and this contributes to 1,683 new cases adding the cumulative total to 313,460 with 20,333 active cases.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham said, the new cases in Perlis involving 13 from DTI Persiaran Wawasan cluster and 11 from the detention centre.

“The cause of the infectivity is under investigation while controlling activities to stop the COVID-19 from spreading within the cluster are being carried out,” said Dr. Noor Hisham in a statement here today.

He added, from 1,673 new cases 1,132 (67.7%) are involving the citizens while 541 (32.3%) are non-citizens and 10 cases are imported affecting four citizens and six non-citizens.

There are 2,506 discharged cases adding to the cumulative total to 291,958 (93.1%) while 174 have been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 81 requiring respiratory aids.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, three deaths involving the citizens were recorded today bringing the cumulative total to 1,169 or 0.37%.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) also informed that from eight new clusters reported today six were formed at work places and one each from detention centre and in the community.

The new clusters affecting work places are two in Selangor and one each in Sabah, Johor and Kuala Lumpur while one each at the detention centre in Sarawak and Perlis and another one affecting the community in Sarawak.

Meanwhile Selangor reported the highest infections with 746 (44.3%) and from that 639 cases (85.7%) were from clusters and close contact screening tests carried out on the grounds. Sarawak follows with 201 cases (11.9%) and Penang with 172 (10.2%).

Sixty-one cases (3.6%) are from related clusters in the prison and immigration detention depots (DTI) involving Jalan Awang (42), DTI Persiaran Wawasan (13), Taiping Wall (3), Pengkalan Chepa Wall (2) and Tapah Wall (1).

The states with new COVID-19 infections are Selangor with 746 cases, Sabah (99), Johor (158), Kuala Lumpur (125), Negeri Sembilan(48), Penang (172), Perak (48), Sarawak (201), Kedah (15), Melaka (3), Kelantan (12), Pahang (12), Terengganu (10), Labuan (8), Putrajaya (2) and Perlis (24). _Malaysia World News

more recommended stories