23 Orang Asli villages in Perak placed under EMCO effective 11th Aug., 38 premises instructed to close for flouting SOP –Senior Minister Hishammuddin

FB IMG 1628516722695

PUTRAJAYA AUG.9: The government has made a calculated and careful approach before giving the privileges to 3.97 million individuals with complete two doses in the states under Phase 2 and 3 in the National Recovery Plan (NRP) as announced by the Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin yesterday.

Senior Minister Foreign Affairs (Security Cluster), Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said, the government has certainly taken the feedback from stakeholders in the health, economic and social sectors.

“The government is aware of the worrisome that arise from the new variant such as Delta variant. The government has made a detailed observation on this issue.

“This includes taking the analysis data collected by the Ministry of Health (MOH). One of the pertinent findings from the total number of daily infections is 96 per cent infected are from category one and two.

“This shows the vaccine received by the people in the country is effective in providing protection against a more dangerous effect,” Hishammuddin said in a statement here today.

Regarding the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO), the government has agreed to impose it on 30 localities nationwide and out of which 23 localities are involving the Orang Asli villages in the district of Batang Padang, Perak effective 11th Aug. until 24th Aug. 2021.

Hishammuddin said, the 23 localities include one locality in sub-district Chendering, sub-district Bidor (3) sub-district Sungkai (1), sub-district Batang Padang (18).

He added, the other localities are in Tawau (2), Tenom , Tuaran, Nabawan in Sabah, Tumpat in Kelantan and Taman Meru 2B, Kinta, Perak,” he said.

“The government has decided to impose EMCO on the localities following the MOH’s presentation on the risk analysis and COVID-19 infections trend nationwide.

“The standard operating procedure (SOP) on the localities under EMCO is the same as announced earlier,” Hishammuddin said.

However, EMCO will be extended effective 10th Aug. until 24th Aug. 2021 on three localities including Sg. Klau and Sg. Chalit, Raub, Pahang; Taman Kinarut Ria, Papar, Sabah and IBN Highland Construction Site, Genting Highlands, Bentong, Pahang.

Meanwhile, 18 localities placed under EMCO nationwide will be lifted on 10th Aug. 2021 and it involves 15 in Sabah and one each in Pahang, Kelantan and Johor.

In the Task Force Compliance Team Operation yesterday, 18,153 personnel had carried out 82,534 checking and snap check COVID-19 to monitor and enforce the SOP compliance nationwide.

“Failing to comply with the SOP, 38 premises had been instructed to close immediately and the checking involved 1,806 factories, 14,016 business premises, 650 construction sites and 179 workers’ hostels.

“The operation had also issued compounds on 281 individuals and 25 were remanded for not adhering to the SOP,” he said. – Malaysia World News

more recommended stories