19,819 new COVID-19cases, 257 deaths, 1,069 admitted to ICU, 3,592 had been vaccinated – DG Dr. Noor Hisham

noor hisham

PUTRAJAYA, AUG.4: Malaysia recorded 19,819 new COVID-19 cases today being the highest since the pandemic started a year ago, bringing the cumulative total to 1,183,110 and 210,522 active cases nationwide.

Director General of Health, Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah said, from the new cases, 1,069 had been admitted to the Intensive Care Units (ICU) with 553 cases needed respiratory aids.

Dr. Noor Hisham said, 257 death cases were recorded today bringing the death toll to 9,855 or 0.83 per cent involving 226 citizens and 31 foreigners.

He added 12,704 had been discharged adding to the cumulative total to 962,733 or 81.4 per cent.

“From 19,819 daily cases today, 375 (1.9 per cent) were from categories 3, 4 and 5. While another 19,444 (98.1 per cent) were from categories 1 and 2. This is based on the current clinical condition of the cases, newly diagnosed COVID-19. 

“Some of the cases remained in the same category throughout the period of infection, however some also changed the health status of the cases either improving to a lower category or declining to a higher category.

“However, only 3,592 (18.1 per cent) of the total cases reported today had a history of COVID-19 immunization,” Dr. Noor Hisham said in a statement here today.

According to Dr. Noor Hisham, 35 new clusters have been recorded today and out of which 20 are community, 14 work places and one religious cluster. The new clusters have added to 1,161 active clusters while 2,635 already expired.

Meanwhile he said, based on the latest data on 3rd Aug.2021, the value of RT (rate of transmission/infectivity) in Malaysia is 1.07. The states that recorded the highest RT value were Kelantan (RT value 1.31) followed by Terengganu  (1.27), and Perak (1.24). All states recorded RTs above 1.0 except Negeri Sembilan, Perlis, and the Federal Territory of Labuan.

States contributing to the new COVID-19 cases are Selangor with 8,377, Kuala Lumpur (2,467), Sabah (949), Sarawak (552), Negeri Sembilan (800), Kedah (1,371),  Pulau Pinang (867), Kelantan (1,003) Perak (662), Melaka (508), Pahang (558), Terengganu (481), Labuan (5), Putrajaya (46) and Perlis (11). –Malaysia World News



more recommended stories