Speaker Mohamad Ariff removed from his post

20200714 072809

KUALA LUMPUR, July 13: After a heated debate amongst the lawmakers in Dewan Rakyat today, the motion tabled by Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin for Speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md. Yusof to vacate his post was successful with 111 MPs voted for while 109 were against it in a block voting.

With that result, the Speaker of Dewan Rakyat will be the former Election Commission Chairman, Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun while the Deputy Speaker will be Pengerang MP, Datuk Seri Azalina Mohd Othman Said.

Before that the Deputy Speaker Datuk Rashid Hasnon made a decision that onlytwo representatives from the government and another two from the opposition should debate the motion for Mohamad Ariff to vacate his position.

The Dewan Rakyat was in a commotion when MPs started to shout and protested asking why the debate on the important subject was not dealt seriously.

Opposition leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim stood up and requested for the motion to be dealt properly to enable more MPs could debate on it.Anwar also asked why the good Speaker will have to vacate his position?

“The reason to replace Mohd. Ariff because there is a new candidate is not acceptable,” Anwar said.

Meanwhile, other opposition leaders including8Gobind Singh Deo (PH-Puchong), Khalid Abdul Samad (PH-Shah Alam) and Datuk Mahfuz Omar (PH- Pokok Sena) also questioned the motion and were in a heated argument with the backbenchers supporting it.-Malaysia World News

Graduate with a Master of Mass Communication. 10 years working experience in the media and broadcasting.

more recommended stories