13 localities in Johor, Kelantan, Sabah, Perak and Selangor imposed with EMCO effective 6th Aug.2021, 41 premises instructed to close immediately


PUTRAJAYA AUG 4:  Thirteen (13) localities involving the states of Johor, Kelantan, Sabah, Perak and Selangor will be imposed with Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) effective 6th Aug. until 19th Aug.2021 due to the surge in COVID-19 cases.

Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs (Security Clusters) Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said, the localities are placed under EMCO following the Ministry of Health’s presentation on risk evaluation and the COVID-19 infection trend in the affected areas.

Hishammuddin said, the 13 localities involved are Taman Puteri Kluang, Johor; Taman Sri Kebakat, Tumpat, Kelantan; two in Kunak District Sabah namely in Mostyn Plantation Housing, Kampung Kasnuri; Kampung Kuala Mengalong, Sipitang, two localities in Kota Kinabalu involving Kampung Tanjung Aru Lama and Universiti Apartment 1; while in Perak, Kg. Menteri Kuala Sepetang, Mukim Matang, Larut Matang, Selama District; two Comfort Rubber Glove factories and Comfort Glove Factory Hostel, Larut Matang Selama District; Kampung Belum Baru, Hulu Perak, Perak and Gugusan Semarak, PJU 5, Kota Damansara, Selangor.

“The standard operating procedures (SOPs) for the localities under EMCO are the same as announced earlier and for further detail refer to the National Security Council (MKN) website at www.mkn.gov.my.

“The EMCO imposed on five localities involving the states of Sabah, Pahang and Perak however had been lifted on 5th Aug. 2021 following the evaluation presentation of MOH on the current COVID-19 situation,” Hishammuddin said in a statement here today.   

The Senior Minister added, the three localities involved in the lifting of the EMCO are One Borneo Condominium, Kota Kinabalu, Kampung Istimewa, Batu Sapi, Sandakan and Taman Merpati, Sandakan while in Pahang, FELDA Jengka 12, Jerantut and in Perak, Bandar Pulai Jaya , Mukim Sungai Raia, Kinta. 

Regarding the Task Force Compliance Operation Team led by the Royal Police Malaysia (RPM), Hishammuddin said, yesterday 19,004 personnel had carried out 90,155 checking and snap check COVID-19 to monitor and enforce the SOP compliance nationwide.

“Failing to adhere to the SOP, 41 premises had been instructed to close immediately and the checking involved 1,634 factories, 14,687 business premises, 833 construction sites and 260 workers’ hostels.

“In the operation, 248 individuals had been issued with compounds and 25 were remanded for not adhering to the SOPs,” Hishammuddin said. –Malaysia World News           


more recommended stories